AAPG Imperial Barrel Award Program (IBA)

AAPG’s Imperial Barrel Award Program (IBA) is an annual prospective basin evaluation competition for geoscience graduate students from universities around the world. University teams compete to win scholarship funds for their geoscience department and the international recognition that comes from competing or winning in the competition. The program is rigorous and contributes to AAPG’s mission of promoting petroleum geoscience training and advancing the careers of geoscience students.

In this global competition, university teams analyze a dataset (geology, geophysics, land, production infrastructure, and other relevant materials) in the eight weeks prior to their local competition. Each team delivers their results in a 25 minute presentation to a panel of industry experts. Students have the chance to use state of the art technology on a real dataset, receive feedback from an industry panel and impress potential employers in the audience. The IBA regional and section competition winners qualify to compete against each other in the international finals during the Annual Convention & Exhibition (ACE), taking place in the USA, for a chance to win scholarship funds for their school.

Visit IBA website to learn more.

IBA in the Middle East Region:

The 8th Regional IBA competition will take place on 26 February 2017 in Al Ain, UAE. 7 teams from Jordan, Oman, Saudi Arabia and the UAE will compete for a chance to represent their university at the global finals which are being held in Houston, Texas on 1 April 2017 during the AAPG Annual Conference and Exhibition (ACE).

Check the video of our past regional competition by this link.

Sultan Qaboos University, the winning team of the 7th Imperial Barrel Award Competition, Middle East (Bahrain, March 2016)

King Fahad University of Petroleum and Minerals awarded with the third place in the IBA Finals 2015 (Denver, Colorado, June 2015)

King Fahad University of Petroleum and Minerals, the winning team of the 6th Imperial Barrel Award Competition, Middle East (Muscat, Oman, March 2015)

And the winners are:

1st Place:
Sultan Qaboos University (Muscat, Oman), led by Prof. Mohammed Farfour
– Faisal Al Shukaili
– Samah Al-Rawahi
– Shatha Al-Issaei
– Rawan Al-Ghatrifi
– Moosa Al-Harthi

2nd Place:
United Arab Emirates University (Al Ain, UAE), led by Dr. Amir Gabr
– Said Khouya
– Falah Mohamed
– Ali AlMuntaser
– Ahmad Abd-elwahed
– Kamal Vakhidov

3rd Place:
The Petroleum Institute (Abu Dhabi, UAE), led by Prof. Mohammad Alsuwaidi
– Afra Al Mehairi
– Bodour Al Kendi
– Aneesa Rabbani
– Isaac Jayachandran
– Mochammad Prahastomi